Spanish Language Tips

Spanish in the native language for over 332,000,000 (Three Hundred Thirty Two Million) people worldwide. It is the official language of Spain, Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

The language is also widely spoken in other nations, including Canada, Morocco, the Philippines, and the United States.

The language itself is one of the Romance languages. Within Spain it has two main dialects, which are Andalusian and Castilian. While these are the main dialects for Spain, many others exist in other areas of the world, specifically in North and South America.

The language originated in southwest Europe, in a region that is known as the Iberian Peninsula. In the 6th century B. C. the regions inhabitants mingled with the Celts, forming a people called Celtiberians, who spoke a form of Celtic.

Then in 19 B. C. the region became known as Hispania and its inhabitants began learning Latin from its Roman inhabitants. When the Classic Latin of the Romans began to mix with the Celtic that the original inhabitants spoke, a language called “Vulgar Latin” was born. The language followed to basic rules of Latin, yet it borrowed words from the other languages of the area. This language is the ancestor of modern Spanish.

With a past that included many conquerors and explorers, Spain has left remnants of its native language across the globe. This factor can be felt in North and South America as heavily as anywhere else. The original settlements in the Americas by the Spanish explorers have led to a large population of Spanish speaking people throughout both continents.

With such a large group of Spanish speaking people across the world, it has become increasingly popular to choose this language with making a decision on learning a new language.